Constitutional Law Committee

Constitutional Law Committee

Committee whose principal function is to issue statements on bills sent to it for consideration and on the constitutionality of other matters and their bearing on international human rights instruments.

The Constitutional Law Committee drafts the Constitution as well as legislation closely connected to it, such as the legislation pertaining to autonomy of Åland, election, citizenship, language and defence. The Constitutional Law Committee also deals with matters having to do with the alleged malfeasance of a minister, the reports of the Chancellor of Justice and the Parliamentary Ombudsman and the Government Annual Report.

Furthermore, the Committee conducts an assessment of those who have registered an interest in the position of Parliamentary Ombudsman and Deputy Parliamentary Ombudsman for purposes of the election of these officials that is held in a plenary session.




Johanna Ojala-Niemelä Ojala-NiemeläSocial Democratic Parliamentary Group

 Vice Chairperson



Antti Häkkänen HäkkänenParliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party




Outi Alanko-Kahiluoto Alanko-KahiluotoGreen Parliamentary Group
Bella Forsgrén ForsgrénGreen Parliamentary Group
Jukka Gustafsson GustafssonSocial Democratic Parliamentary Group
Maria Guzenina GuzeninaSocial Democratic Parliamentary Group
Olli Immonen ImmonenThe Finns Party Parliamentary Group
Eeva Kalli KalliCentre Party Parliamentary Group
Hilkka Kemppi KemppiCentre Party Parliamentary Group
Mikko Kinnunen KinnunenCentre Party Parliamentary Group
Anna Kontula KontulaLeft Alliance Parliamentary Group
Mats Löfström LöfströmSwedish Parliamentary Group
Jukka Mäkynen MäkynenThe Finns Party Parliamentary Group
Sakari Puisto PuistoThe Finns Party Parliamentary Group
Wille Rydman RydmanParliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party
Heikki Vestman VestmanParliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party
Tuula Väätäinen VäätäinenSocial Democratic Parliamentary Group

 More Information

 Contact Information

​Constitutional Law Committee
Tel: +358 9 432 2049